Mar 26, 2019 | Boys, Girls, Track


By Mike Ready
TOMS RIVER – The Shore Conference delivered a more than respectable showing at last month’s indoor track Meet of Champions held at the Bennett Indoor Complex in Toms River. 
The boys posted two first-place, one second-place and four third-place finishes that were included in 20 top-ten finishes, while the girls recorded three third-place finishes and a combined 13 top-ten finishes. 
In the 55 meter dash, Donovan Catholic sophomore and first-team All-Shore selection James Bivens placed third with a time of 6:47, .09 seconds off Hamilton North’s Louis Akpadago’s winning time of 6:38.
Middletown South’s sophomore Aaron Stillano (23.64) placed 12th in the 200 meter event and was a 2019 second-team All-Shore selection.
The Shore Conference had four runners finish in the top 10 in the 400 meter race with Matawan first-team All-Shore pick Zachary Hall taking third with a time of 50:06, .51 off the pace of winner Mario Heslop who ran a 49.57 400 to win it.  Freehold Township third-team All-Shore selection Tyler Kelly (fourth, 50.40), CBA first-team All-Shore runner Liam O’Hara (seventh, 50.57) and Ocean Township’s Jared Conte (10th, 50.88) all were top-10 finishers. 
In the 800 meter Matawan’s Charlie Serrano – a third-team All-Shore pick this year – placed 10th while Jackson Memorial junior Noah Coakley – a member of the Jaguars third-team All-Shore 4x400 relay team – finished 12th. 
First-team All-Shore CBA senior Tim McInerney placed fifth (4:17.46) behind winner Williams Baginski of Ridgewood (4:12.90), while Toms River North’s Javid Ridgeway, another first-team All-Shore pick, finished 10th (4:20.67) in front of Southern Regional’s Jacson Braddock 11th (4:21.15) and CBA’s Tristan Amell 13th (4:23.62), second- and third-team All-Shore picks, respectively. 
In the 3200 meter event, Point Pleasant Boro All-State runner Devin Hart placed second (8:54.45) getting nosed out by .23 of a second by Allentown’s Liam Murray (8:54.22d). Freehold Township’s third-team All-Shore selection, Nick Lundberg, seventh (9:23.79) and Manalapan’s Rishi Sharma 14th (9:32.15) both also ran an outstanding race.
The Shore was well represented in the 4X400 relay with the CBA team of Ethan Ferraiola, Rafael Coppola, Liam O’Hara and Ethan Arce placing third, the Matawan team of Dylan LoPresti, Charlie Serrano, Justin Summer and Zachary Hall finishing fourth, Jackson Memorial’s Noah Coakley, Nicholas Mollica, Zachary Novak and Jake Mckown came in fifth, while Freehold Township broke into the top 10 finishing 10th, while Toms River North’s team of Tyler MacDonald, Sean Walker, Cristian Bermudez and Colin Carpena placed fifth in the 4X800 relay. 
Red Bank Regional’s first-team All-Shore selection Brendan Loftus continued his dominance, winning the shot put event with a distance of 56-07-00, which was a personal best. CBA’s Nicholas Morse (53-09-.25) –  second-team All-Shore – placed fifth while Southern’s Liam Anderson (51-00-00) finished ninth. 
Middletown South’s first-team All-Shore pick, Mark Anselmi, took first in the high jump clearing the bar 6-06.00, while Neptune’s Kevin Mabry tied for 11th with a jump of 11-00.00
Red Bank Catholic’s first-team All-Shore selection, Tara Zeni, placed eighth (7.38) in the 55 meter dash, finishing .32 seconds behind winner Jailya Ash’s time of 7.06. 
In the 200 meter event, Holmdel’s Sydney Goldson – first-team All-Shore – finished 13th with a time of 26.21. 
Lily Orr, a junior first-team All-Shore pick from Rumson-Fair Haven, took third in the 400 meter event just under a second behind winner Kaira Brown’s time of 55.91. Goldson finished right behind in fourth place with a time of 57.31. 
In the 800 meter final, first-team All-Shore runner Lilly Shapiro from Colts Neck placed fifth with a personal best time of 2:16.44 behind first-place finisher Victoria Vanriele’s winning time of 2:09.18. Saint John Vianney’s Olivia Wojtowicz (2:19.79) placed 14th, Shore Regional’s Hannah Birdsall (2:21.30) was 15th and Rumson’s Olivia Rehder (2:21.43) finished 16th. 
Red Bank Regional’s third-team All-Shore distance runner Catherine Wimmer placed seventh in the 1500 meter event with a time of 5:09.11, while Henry Hudson’s Corina Vidal’s time of 5:11.88 gave her a ninth-place finish. 
Three Shore Conference runners finished in the top 10 in the 3200 meter event with Holmdel’s Emily Levonas placing fourth (10:49.16), Monmouth Regional’s Samantha Ragenklint fifth (10:49.58) and Middletown South’s Kathleen Shay taking seventh with a time of 10:57.58. Shapiro added a 12th-place finish to her day’s work in the 3200. 
Rumson-Fair Haven’s 4X400 relay team of Eva Farr, Campbell Devlin, Rehder and Orr placed third with a time of 3:59.39 in back of Union Catholic’s winning time of 3:53.84 while Southern Regional’s team of Karagan Bulger, Hailey Hochstrasser, Shannon Flaherty and Caitlin Hambor took seventh with a time of 4:00.99. 
In the 4X800 meter relay, Colts Neck’s team of Arianna Sakoutis, Catie Anderson, Natalie Shapiro and Lilly Shapiro placed eighth with a time of 9:49.29 behind Ridge’s winning time of 9:18.64. Toms River South took 17th place (10:15.95). 
Howell’s first-team All-Shore selection Briana Wilson placed fifth in the shot put event with a toss of 39-09.25, not far behind winner Cydney Thomas’ throw of 42-04.75. Toms River East’s Rachel Lavigne – second-team All-Shore – finished 11th (38-00.50) and Matawan’s Latiesha Small’s toss of 37-07.50 put her in 13th place. 
The Matawan duo of Mue Carroll and Dayna Moyer placed 10th and 15th, respectively, in the pole vault event with vaults of 11-00.0 and 10-06.00.